logo top

Without Messi-Ronaldo, who is the owner of the Golden Ball since 2008?

28 Jan 2022 | 09:18 | Football

 In a world without Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi, who will win the Ballon d’Or since 2008?

2008 – Fernando Torres

 - Football

 Torres had a successful 2018.

The 2007/08 season with Torres was simply brilliant. He scored 33 goals in 46 appearances at club level, and with Spain won Euro 2008, the tournament in which T9 scored in the final. That year, El Nino won the Bronze Ball title.

2009 – Xavi

In the 2008/09 season, Barcelona won the divine treble, surprising the world by the Tiqui-taka style, in which Xavi was the nucleus.

2010 – Andres Iniesta

2010 saw a trio of “homegrown” La Masia enter the top 3 shortlists for the Golden Ball title. Iniesta finished second, ahead of Xavi, behind Leo Messi.

2011 – Xavi

Barca won La Liga and Champions League in the 2010/11 season. Xavi once again finished 3rd, behind Messi and Ronaldo. The former Spain player has 14 goals and 8 assists after 61 matches.

2012 – Andres Iniesta

The Spanish conductor was a key figure in helping Spain win Euro 2012. At club level, Iniesta scored 8 goals, provided 17 assists, and won La Liga with Barca.

2013 – Frank Ribery

Until now, the fact that Ribery only finished 3rd in 2013 is still controversial. The French midfielder and Bayern Munich won the Bundesliga, German Cup and Champions League in the 2012/13 season. He personally scored 16 goals in 39 games.

 - Football

Neuer is a rare goalkeeper in the top 3. 

2014 – Manuel Neuer

Neuer is a rare goalkeeper in the top 3 shortlist for the Ballon d’Or. He had a successful 2014 World Cup when he won the championship with Germany, but still lagged behind Messi and Ronaldo.


2015 – Neymar

The Brazilian striker had a brilliant 2014/15 season with Barca when he scored 39 goals in all competitions, and with the Blaugrana won the treble of La Liga, Champions League and Copa del Rey. But Neymar is still behind the two scoring machines Ronaldo and Messi.

2016 – Antoine Griezmann

Although he did not win any titles, Griezmann still had an impressive 2016 when reaching the Champions League final with Atletico and the Euro 2016 final with France. And both times, he lost against the team led by Ronaldo.

2017 – Neymar

In the 2016/17 season, Neymar was the “architect” to help Barca beat PSG 6-1. And in the summer of that year, the Brazilian striker joined the French giants.

2018 – Luka Modric

The Croatian midfielder is a “rare” who surpassed Messi and Ronaldo to win the 2018 Golden Ball. Modric led Real Madrid to win the Champions League, and reached the final of the 2018 World Cup.

 - Football

Van Dijk had a successful 2018/19 season. 

2019 – Virgil van Dijk

Van Dijk had a successful 2018/19 season when he won the Champions League with Liverpool, and with the Netherlands reached the Nations League final. However, this central defender regretfully finished second, behind Messi.

2021 – Robert Lewandowski

Controversy broke out when the Polish striker lost to Messi in the 2021 Ballon d’Or race, despite the 2020/21 season, Lewy shot 49 goals in 37 games.